Credit Bureau Certifications

Fair Credit Reporting Act & Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (FCRA & FACTA) Certified

This in-depth FCRA training course is followed up by a comprehensive 34 question exam mixed with multiple choice and true/false answers, which 80% or better is required to pass. This certificate was designed specifically for users of consumer credit reports. The certification is conducted through Consumer Data Industry Association (CDIA) which is recognized as the “gold standard” in the industry and is renewed every 2 years. Although other companies offer this certification, CDIA is the preferred vendor by the Experian Credit Bureau.

Crisis and Case Management Training

Restoration Specialist Training

This is a very intensive week-long training that is geared towards the human element, being able to express empathy and sympathy and instructions on how to properly interact with an ID theft victim. Internal case management and processes are taught as well as how to handle the delicate phases of crisis management that one experiences in such traumatic events. Restoration Specialists must complete this training prior to handling a case load. There are 70 multiple choice, true and false and essay questions totaling 130 points, requiring a minimum of 85% proficiency to complete the examination.

The Restoration Specialist Case Management training is ongoing and continues throughout the Restoration Specialist’s employment with weekly Restoration Specialist meetings to review case load, monthly group meetings to review client changes, updated processes, service level goals, latest ID theft schemes, etc. and ongoing ID Theft and Relationship Manager training focused on internal website functionality, new products and configuration, etc.

Identity Theft Licensing & Certifications

Licensed Private Investigators

This licensing is conducted through the Arizona Department of Public Safety and every Restoration Specialist is fingerprinted and goes through an FBI background check conducted every 2 years. There are many disqualifiers for this licensing such as: no Felony convictions and indictments (past or present) and any misdemeanors that involve personal violence, misconduct with a deadly weapon, dishonesty or fraud, arson, theft, domestic violence, narcotics, sexual misconduct, etc. This FBI background check is in addition to the standard background check performed on each restoration specialist and is updated annually

Certified Identity Theft Risk Management Specialists (CITRMS XV)

Every Restoration Specialist must successfully complete the CITRMS training and certification process offered by the Institute of Consumer Financial Education (ICFE). The purpose is to comprehensively prepare and equip individuals working in the financial crimes industry with the knowledge and skills necessary to assist consumers and businesses fully, access and minimize their present risk of credit and identity theft.

The examination consists of 100 multiple choice and true/false questions. A minimum score of 80 correct answers must be obtained to receive certification. Certification expires 2020.

Certified Financial Crimes Investigator (CFCI)

Each applicant for this certification must apply to take the CFCI exam and meet the following requirements: (1) must be an IAFCI member; (2) have a minimum of 3 years of experience in an area directly related to financial crimes investigations and; (3) must be currently working in the financial crimes industry in a position directly related to financial crimes investigations; (4) Pass 150 question exam; maintain certification with 20 credits every 3 years.

Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE)

The Association of Certified Fraud Examiners (ACFE) is the world’s largest anti-fraud organization and premier provider of anti-fraud training and education. Qualifications include:
(1) an active ACFE Member; (2) possess specific minimum academic and professional requirements; (3) demonstrate high moral character and; (4) agree to abide by the Bylaws and Code of Professional Ethics of the ACFE; (5) Pass 600 question exam; 20 credits per year are required to maintain the certification. Studying for this exam is equivalent to a college level course.

Certified Identity Protection Advisor (CIPA)

The CIPA certification is offered through the Identity Management Institute the Center for Identity Governance. The CIPA program is an international certification which is designed for professionals who educate, guide, and support businesses and consumers with their identity theft prevention, detection, investigation and resolution services. This certification is renewed annually.

HIPAA Awareness for Business Associates Certification

2-year certificate equal to 1.5 credit hours of an online training course that exceeds the requirements for HIPAA training established by the federal HIPAA Privacy and HIPAA Security regulations. This comprehensive training course covers such topics as: Introduction to HIPAA, Transactions, Code Sets and Identifiers, Privacy, Security, ARRA/HITech Act and Omnibus Rule, Implementation and more.